Jump to Navigation

078 - Using chkconfig to change runlevel

The chkconfig command can also be used to activate and deactivate services. If you use the chkconfig --list  command, you will see a list of system services
and whether they are started (on) or stopped (off) in runlevels 0-6 (at the end of the list, you will see a section for the services managed by xinetd.

If you use chkconfig --list to query a service managed by xinetd, you will see whether the xinetd service is enabled (on) or disabled (off). For example,
the following command shows that finger is enabled as an xinetd service:

$ chkconfig --list | grep ntpd
ntpd          on

As shown above, if xinetd is running, finger is enabled.
If you use chkconfig --list to query a service in /etc/rc.d, you will see the service's settings for each runlevel, like the following:

$ chkconfig --list ntpd
ntpd         0:off   1:off   2:on    3:on    4:on    5:on    6:off

More importantly, chkconfig can be used to set a service to be started (or not) in a specific runlevel. For example,
to turn nscd off in runlevels 3, 4, and 5, use the command:

chkconfig --level 2345 ntpd off

See the chkconfig man page for more information on how to use it.


Main menu 2

Story | by Dr. Radut